Book Release News & Then Some.

9 Mar

Hello, Pookies.

I’m currently in Columbus for the 2011 Women of the World Poetry Slam. I was a finalist in last year’s competition, but this year I’m enjoying the festival from a new perspective. I’ll be hosting bouts, mingling with my slam family, and soaking up the city of Columbus – while, as always, continuing to work on writing, promotion, and booking. Speaking of booking, darlings, do let me know if you want to bring me to your school, event, or show; I run a helluva workshop, and I rock the mic right.

My publisher has pushed my book’s official release back to April. You can still buy pre-release copies from me, or from the Write Bloody store, but no official book release shows are happening until next month. The good news is I’ve spoken to Kevin Coval, an O.G. poet of crazy acclaim, and he offered to help me organize releases in Chicago. I’ll keep y’all posted as we pull those shows together.

Finally, I received my first official book review today! Jason Behrends writes a really cool blog on contemporary culture called What to Wear During an Orange Alert?, and he runs a corresponding reading series in Chicago. Behrends reviews my work quite favorably here. Over the next month or so, I’m sending many more copies out to different reviewers, so let’s hope this is just the beginning, babies!

Love, love. Be safe, sweethearts. ❤

Leave a Reply

