Moving On Up.

24 Jan

White boys keep informing me that, contrary to the title of my collection, it takes, at the most, two steps to seduce them. I counter by saying I’m very thorough. If you’d like to truly master this art, get your own copy of How to Seduce a White Boy in Ten Easy Steps. 😉

Touring the West Coast is always a treat for me (especially in the winter, ha). I’m having a great time, loves, and I’m really looking forward to the rest of my features, from Santa Cruz to Bellingham and everywhere in between. Coming out here gives me a great opportunity to see my extended family and visit shows that are dear to my heart.

That said, I think this will be my last venue tour.

Just a year ago, venue touring was perfect for me. It helped me to get my name out, it connected me with poets and organizers around the country, it gave me so much confidence and completely amped my performance. I still highly recommend poets take this route when starting out, and I still think more women should tour venues.

One of my major professional goals for 2011 is, well, to be more professional. I want to move to the next level with my work, which means being more organized, having a cleaner image, and booking gigs that pay more and connect me to artists and audiences I haven’t reached yet.

There’s a lot more to it than just that, but for now I know I want to focus my time and energy on making a real, sustainable career out of poetry. ❤

3 Responses to “Moving On Up.”

  1. B January 29, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    …cleaner image?

    • Laura Yes Yes January 29, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

      Yeah, since I posted, I’ve been wondering where that came from, too.

      o_O

    • Laura Yes Yes January 31, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      I think I meant I needed to take a shower.

Leave a Reply

