In Defense of Winter.

14 Dec

It seems like it’s wonky cold in all kinds of cities right now. Last night in Atlanta, Karen and I were too bone-chilled to stay outside for a whole cigarette at a time; we came home and she started a fire for extra comfort. Snow in Seattle and Portland? Heavy jacket weather in Charlotte? And of course the snowday mindfuck in Minnesota! Who’s warm these days? I haven’t heard a peep out of you, California! X-(

I love the cold for a lot of reasons, though. When you do tuck into your warm bed, being under those covers feels miraculous. That hot cup of coffee or cocoa’s a revelation. Even smoking during the winter, which a lot of nonsmokers regard with bewilderment, has an added touch of cameraderie as you huddle against gales with your fellow smokers, and a certain ethereality as billows of carbons monoxide and dioxide glide off your tongue.

I also like winter because it motivates me to work. Friends are often curious as to why I decided, two years ago, not to stay in Hawai’i forever and ever. A simple answer to that? I got shit to do. There’s a lot I want to accomplish, for whatever reason, and I don’t have the most disciplined mind. Someone like Kealoha might be able to organize the biggest slam in the country while living on an island paradise, but someone like me would spend a lot more time floating in the ocean. It’s not a bad way to live, of course not, but the electricity on winter’s tongue shocks my lazy brain awake.

Maybe I’m channeling those seven years I spent in Massachusetts, and maybe I’m being a little disingenuous. After all, I had a lot of fun feeling smug about booking shows in the Southeast and Pacific Northwest when Chicagoans warned me of rapacious winters. And glory, I sometimes miss living in Oakland, where the weather is simply perfect for human habitation 90% of the time. But cold winters get a lot of bad press, and I so enjoy being contrarian.

Right now I’m working on the next stage of publishing this book: marketing, promotion, booking, merchandise and website development, branding, and seeking quotes/prizes/reviews. Feeling very zen. This kind of work is a refreshing change from the high-scrutiny, high-stress process of preparing for competition, or the angsty, navel-gazing process of assembling a manuscript.

Hm, my plan was to write a post about the latter, to give you curious folks some idea of how my book came into existence, but winter won, as it often does. Maybe next time. For now, keep working, indulge in hot drink and warm blankets, and don’t get too SADD, my loves. ❤

One Response to “In Defense of Winter.”

  1. leslie mazal December 15, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    i’m enjoying the contradictions stipulated in this note. but my take is that winter needs no defense. it stands – beautiful – bright – bold. on its own merit, of its own accord.

    “Rich meanings of the prophet-Spring adorn,
    Unseen, this colourless sky of folded showers,
    And folded winds; no blossom in the bowers;
    A poet’s face asleep in this grey morn.
    Now in the midst of the old world forlorn
    A mystic child is set in these still hours.
    I keep this time, even before the flowers,
    Sacred to all the young and the unborn.
    ~ Alice Meynell, In February

Leave a Reply

